Allisonwritings


Our work is never over
November 20, 2008, 7:46 pm
Filed under: Love, Politics | Tags: , , ,

banskyWhile there are many things I’d like to write about right now, I feel quite fixated on how real and epic the climate of our country is lately.  So very much, that I feel like in my lifetime, the weight of our outside world and need to survive has never felt so…heavy.  Sure, I’m only 23, so life’s weights have been lifted by other’s for the majority of my life (thank you mom and dad), but this is a tough “real world” to enter, even after a year or so within it.  

While times are tough, there is something quite romantic about it, and I find peace in that, in feeling so alive, in feeling the personal and collective struggle of gettin’ by and survivin’.  In fact, there’s no better time in the world than now to appreciate the good things we are fortunate enough to have.  Family that would help you in a time of need, your health, your friends – we are all in it together, we all feel it together, and I think there is something to really embrace as a society about that.  What hurts you only makes you stronger.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What beautiful thoughts during challenging times.
By the way, you’re welcome.

Bill and Carol

Comment by Bill

Keep writing, let’s here more! Get personal. Where are the stories?

Comment by Matt

I love it that your parents commented on this. I also love that you called this struggle we’re in “romantic”… it is, very much so.

Comment by Anonymous




Leave a Reply

